Fingers Crossed!

Ok, so I met a super nice lady at Chick-Fil-A, I think I mentioned her in my last post, Ms. April Dobson.  She is the newly published author of Adventures of Tally the Turtle: Tally Moves Away  , former military, and a fellow Mississippian. Y’all should check out her book, my son loves it. I have to read it three times every time we read it :). I had already checked into her publishers and she was nice enough to take the time to talk with me about them.  I’ve been corresponding with one of their acquisitions editors and submitted one of my stories to them yesterday. Wish me luck!!! I’m a little nervous about it.  Even if they aren’t interested in my work, I look forward to hearing any comments/criticism they may have. I will keep you posted on that.

Another thing I want to share with you this morning is a new, brilliant, super awesome e-magazine, The Paperbook Collective.  It’s a “creative collaboration of work from around the world” and available in pdf or online through ISSUU. You can read it online or print it to read later.  I admit I skipped around some and haven’t read it in its entirety, but what I did read was just, well, awesome and put together very well.  I especially liked:

When Reading Turns Deadly by Hadas Nahshon, pg. 8

The World Darkly by John W. Howell, pg. 15

A Stair Case by John Arthur Robinson, pg. 26

Elephant by Jade Ashe, pg 45

The magazine includes author biographies and a submissions form on pg. 48 if you’d like to submit your own work.  I plan to do that soon.  You can find out more about it at The Paperbook Blog, which I also am fond of reading.

I’ve been making a special effort to make time for writing everyday.  Not so easy with gorgeous weather that beckons you to drop all responsibilities and soak in the sunshine and scents of summer before winter reaches out with it’s frozen, spindly fingers and withers it all away. Fall is almost nonexistent here :/ Maybe this year will be different. Anyways, it can be done and so I’ll do it! And I want to encourage you to keep writing, too. Y’all have a great day!

3 Comments

Filed under about my book, e-magazines, Fiction Writing, reading, recommended blogs

3 responses to “Fingers Crossed!

  1. Thank you so much for two things; 1. Following my blog 2. For liking my short story in The Paperbook Collective. I really must follow you as well since you obviously have great instincts 🙂

Leave a Reply

