book vs. movie

I have a rule about books that are turned into to movies. When at all possible, I like to read the book first. I then savagely nit pick the movie.  It bugs me when the movie strays too far from the book and I wonder why the screen writer didn’t just write his own movie, instead of butchering some poor defenseless (yet probably very rich) author’s work. Take for instance Nicholas Spark’s novel, The Lucky One.  The movie isn’t really that much like the book. My husband probably wishes I didn’t read the book first because I point out every little change that’s in the movie.

I can honestly say that I haven’t found a book yet that I didn’t enjoy more than the movie, but some movies do live up to the awesomeness of the book.  I didn’t really know what The Hunger Games was about and didn’t think I cared, so I watched the movie thinking I’d never read the book anyway, but it really made me want to read the book and now I’ve read all three. Of course I then had to re-watch the movie. Can’t wait until the next movie comes out this November 🙂 The only thing I wish they would have done differently in the first movie is make Pita as charming as he is in the book.

I did the same thing with Beautiful Creatures. I watched the movie, but I didn’t know that there was a book.  I’m thinking about reading that series next, but haven’t started yet.  Have any suggestions on books turned into movies that are worth reading? Do you like to read the book or watch the movie first?

Leave a comment

Filed under book vs. movie, reading

Leave a Reply

