Greatest Books for Children?

In the 2012 March issue of Scholastic Parent & Child magazine, there’s a list of the 100 greatest books for kids. Charlotte’s Web came in at number 1, Harry Potter at number 6, and Green Eggs and Ham, number 7. You can check the entire list out at the Scholastic website. There were books I’d never even heard of and some that I really don’t feel belonged.  I’m sure everyone has their opinion, and I definitely have mine. For the most part, I didn’t agree with the list at all. Many of the greatest books were on there, but not in the order I would’ve chosen.  The Wizard of Oz, by L. Frank Baum, Dr. Seuss’s Mr. Brown Can Moo, Can You?, Sir Small and the Dragonfly, by Jane O’Connor, Hug a Bug, by Eileen Spinelli, and Lemony Snickett’s A Series of Unfortunate Events, were among the books that didn’t make the list.  Inconceivable! Maybe I’ll make my own list… I’ll get back to you with that.  Do you agree with Scholastic’s list?  What books would you have added or left out?

1 Comment

Filed under Fiction Writing

One response to “Greatest Books for Children?

  1. office depot coupons in store

    Thanks for your marvelous posting! I really enjoyed reading
    it, you happen to be a great author.I will be sure to bookmark your blog and will come back from now on.
    I want to encourage you to continue your great work,
    have a nice evening!

Leave a Reply

